Out sick… again?

girl with flu

I’ve brought back one of my favorite pictures – this sweet little Asian girl – to tell you that I’m sick… AGAIN. This time it’s a doozie. I am out of commission with pneumonia. Today is the first day in several that I have gotten up and walked around a bit, so I wanted to write a quick note to say hi.

I have been reading the comments here and have enjoyed the sharing that is going on. We have such wonderful friends here!

My doctor says my body is reacting to the stress of the last several years. It’s catching up with me, she says. I thought the fibromyalgia was my body’s way of reacting, but I guess it has decided to act out in a different way now. Whatever, I won’t be down long. I will persevere.

Take care. Since I am up today, I expect to be back soon.

Love & prayers,
DJ

17 thoughts on “Out sick… again?

  1. Still Loving Him says:

    I’m so sorry to hear you’re ill again. I hope and pray for a speedy recovery for you. Take it easy and get some rest. My bad knee keeps acting up, I sometimes think it’s the Lords way of reminding me that I need my husband.

  2. brokenjoan says:

    Dear DJ, so sorry to hear you are not feeling well. Hope you feel better soon. Your friend, broken joan

  3. SHAPE says:

    DJ–My prayers for your speedy recovery. It does seem that the stress from our spouses’ affairs affect us physically and as well as emotionally. Just when we think we are maybe okay, something seems to remind us again what this does to us all. Take it easy for as long as you need to! I hope to comment on some of the other remarks that were made last week. Just returned from seeing my little grandson (15 mos old now) on the opposite side of the US. He is a bright spot in my life, for sure!

  4. kayboo24 says:

    Sorry to hear that you are sick. Prayers for a speedy recovery. We all miss our wise friend DJ here in blog land. Sometimes you are that voice of reason that so many of us need.

  5. Teresa says:

    Hey lady!! Take it easy, we’re doing fine here! We miss you, of course, but want you back only when you’re 100%!
    Maybe your next post should be crazy counseling experiences…or what did you do or say that made your counselor laugh or cringe…I have a couple examples!! LOL!! That way we can take over the blog for awhile, and you can sit back and laugh at us! 😀
    Here’s an example….at our counseling session 3 weeks ago, right towards the end, our counselor told my husband that he has to change some things that he’s doing, “even though it’s a man thing and that’s JUST HOW WE ARE” …..Well….THAT was like raising a red flag in front of a bull AKA ME!!! LOL!
    I looked at him and said “Well, I HATE hearing that excuse ( my H has used that QUITE often since Dday) That’s like ME saying I’m a woman in menopause, and I’m stressed out, tired and I don’t feel like having sex anymore, so my H can FORGET SEX, because it’s a WOMAN thing!!! LOL! Our counselor was so shocked, he sat back in his chair and just looked at me….I’m rather proud to say, he WAS speechless!! BWAHAHAHA!! Score one for the women!!! Woohoo!!
    I then asked him, “So, just how long do you think THAT excuse will work with him, pointing to my H, after all, it’s just how women are, right??!”
    LOL! Later that night my H and I started laughing, I literally had tears running down my face, when my H asked me if I saw our counselor’s face!!
    Hope that made you laugh. DJ, it’s a true story!! LOL

    • SHAPE says:

      Oh, Teresa–
      You made my day this morning! What a hoot. I love your response to the counselor, and better yet that you and your H could laugh later about it. I really do think laughter can be some of the best medicine. Thanks so much for sharing. This would be a good post to share with my H–it might get the “ball rolling” towards more conversation on our own. He is extremely reluctant to see a counselor, although I have gone on my own. Just find myself at a stalemate when he won’t go. But I LOVED your post.
      And, DJ, I do hope you are feeling better!

      • Teresa says:

        SHAPE,
        There’s a lot more where that came from! I’m a shoot straight from the hip kinda girl and people either like me or hate me….very few hate me by the way, and the ones that do, what do I care?? They obviously have poor taste!! LOL!

    • Teresa, This is a good story! And you nailed it. I think we’ve all had it ‘up to here’ with the “…it’s a man thing and that’s just how we are…” excuse. 🙂

  6. Praying for healing! Blessings!

  7. Foolish Woman says:

    Rest up and heal, my dear.
    Take care of yourself first. Everything else can wait.
    xx

  8. survivamama says:

    Hey DJ, Thank you for your latest (not so recent) check in. I hope you got my response…too crazy busy to be blogging at the moment but I’m still reading other people’s. Take care of yourself. xoxo

    • betrayalsurvivor1981 says:

      survivamama, you have messages/info on your blog awaiting moderation, whenever you get the chance to read them. (I raised three children as a divorced mother, so I UNDERSTAND being “too crazy busy”!) 😀

  9. betrayalsurvivor1981 says:

    My thoughts and prayers are with you DJ for a full, yet speedy, recovery! God Bless You! 🙂

  10. cathmae says:

    Hoping you’re feeling a lot better and looking forward to seeing you back on line, DJ!

  11. Liberty says:

    Take care DJ. It is a shame that our health suffers so much thru all of this stuff!

    Thinking of you. Love and prayers. Liberty xoxo

  12. Leise-Falyon says:

    Rest, sleep and take care of yourself…

    Love,
    Leise-Falyon

  13. mad cow says:

    sorry to hear you aren’t well. I’ve been rewriting a book I wrote for myself so haven’t been active on here but I thought you sounded like you had made a lot of progress, personally, maybe laying the problems at Daniels door where they should be. Hopefully this physical illness is your body releasing some of the mental stress and disapointment you have endured. I have usually worked for myself so illness is a difficult luxury, but it is amazing how your body can hang on until you have time to be ill. For me unfortunatly that was usually holidays. Find yourself a nice mountain and enjoy God’s bounty.
    We have a few problems on my ‘islan paradise’ at the moment but when I go out walking up to a 3rd century monastry on top of a 900 mtr hill, somehow it helps to mend, I hope you are already better MC.

Leave a Reply

