Love is a fire

“Love is a fire.  But whether it is going to warm your heart or burn down your house, you can never tell.”

-Joan Crawford

I stumbled upon this quote today.  It was rather nice in that I could laugh at it.  But it is with bittersweet understanding of the truth in it. That’s how it feels to me right now anyway.

In my case the house burned down.  We have been trying to rebuild it with a stronger foundation and better materials, but it seems that the very ground under our foundation may be nothing more than sand, and it’s slipping through my fingers.  I don’t know if I can stop it.  I don’t know if I want to.

12 thoughts on “Love is a fire

  1. Sorry you’re feeling that way today.

  2. backonmyown says:

    The uncertainty is so hard to take. I’m sorry you’re feeling iffy today.

    • Not Over It says:

      Thank you, Pat. No matter what happens in my marriage, I am happy to have made friends like you in our blogging community. Hope you’re feeling better today.
      -DJ

  3. AngelWings says:

    Just catching up on your blog and I’m sorry to see that things are not going well. I pray and hope that you find your peace with this mess. I trust that whatever happens, whichever path you go down, it will be the right path for you. Hope your road trip helped clear your mind for a little while. Praying for you.

  4. Not Over It says:

    Thank you, AngelWings. I really appreciate your thoughts and prayers. It was good to get away and I’m taking another trip for some time to think and to pray for guidance. Hope life is treating you well…
    -DJ

  5. Praying for you today and every day. This road is so hard, and you have gone out of your way to help carry others’ burdens. You deserve some peace!

    • Not Over It says:

      Thank you, EG. We all share and help each other – I cannot imagine going through this without all of you. You, EG, are so new to this and yet you manage to reach out to others, too. What a blessing you are.
      -DJ

      • nmw1 says:

        Hi Dj, (I don’t know if I want to!) That statement is very profound, in that it is a sign of strength in a person that has endured the worst of pain of the heart and of the soul in the face of betrayal. It is not a sign of giving up, but a sign of courage to except what ever path the rest of the journey leads. You are a beautiful person with a heart of gold. You help others even when your own heart is trying to mend. And we are all better for it. I just think you deserve to be happy!

      • Not Over It says:

        Hi NM – You’ve made me smile for the first time today. I was feeling very alone but now I feel uplifted. Thank you!
        -DJ

  6. Dear DJ, Your candle of hope says it all. It is such a beautiful image for finding meaning within and for being willing to look to the future. Yesterday I was talking with my daughter about how we never really know, in the moment, how it all is going to look upon reflection. Have faith.

    • Not Over It says:

      Thank you, Paula. That is a good statement for my mirror. I always have a few affirmations and positive thoughts on my mirror to think about as I start my day. I’m going to post that one today.
      -DJ

Leave a Reply

