Lie To Me

I have never been one to watch a whole lot of TV, and after D-day I stopped altogether for more than a year.  It seemed like there were triggers everywhere in the shows, commercials and the news, too.  I got stronger after that, but I had gotten out of the habit by then and didn’t really care to get back into it.  I watched a show here and there when I spent time with my children, and that was about it.

But then my oldest got a subscription to streaming Netflix.  Whenever I was with her, we would watch something on her Netflix list.  One show in particular got me hooked:  Lie to Me.  I am fascinated by the study of reading facial and body language and that is the basis of this show.  It ran for two years – the two most stressful years of my life – and I missed its entire run.

My children saw that I was able to watch TV again and they gave me a subscription to Netflix for my birthday.  Now I can watch Lie to Me and all my other favorites any time I want.  The show Lie to Me has also gotten me interested in studying the work of Dr. Paul Ekman, on whom the show’s main character is based.  Fascinating.

I think I was largely blind to my husband’s affair because I trusted him so blindly and so completely that I did not see the glaring signs right in front of me.  I had an explanation for everything.  I sincerely thought he was going through clinical depression.  If I had known how to read faces at that time, would I have caught him earlier?  Maybe.  Maybe not.  But he won’t get away with it a second time, that’s for sure.  Not that I’m expecting him to try it again, but my eyes are open now.  Just try and LIE TO ME.

9 thoughts on “Lie To Me

  1. “I think I was largely blind to my husband’s affair because I trusted him so blindly and so completely that I did not see the glaring signs right in front of me.”
    Yep and ditto. At least for round one. I suspected something wrong for round two…but I believed her when she denied it. Fool me once, shame on you, Fool me twice……

  2. backonmyown says:

    You’ve made me want to see “Lie to Me.” The multi-layered lies just keep on giving, don’t they? I’m not sure knowing all the signs would have helped me. Like you, I trusted so completely that I wouldn’t have recognized it for what it was. In fact I did know a lot of the signs and I blindly chose to ignore them. Queen of denial.

  3. Not Over It says:

    Hey Pat – As you might suspect, my husband does not enjoy the show. He won’t explain it but I think he is triggered by many things in the show: the leading lady’s divorce, fear of being caught in a lie, and things like that. So I don’t watch it often – I try to be sensitive to his triggers since I expect him to be sensitive to mine. But right now he’s away on a business trip so I’ve watched several episodes. I love it.

    Yes, we were all too trusting. I tell my coach all the time: never again. It was a loss of innocence.

    DJ

    • JustMe says:

      My husband hates any shows like lie to me cheaters, jeremy kyle, jerr…anything like that!

      • Not Over It says:

        Hi JM – well, I guess that shows that at least they still have some sense of morality and decency…?! Just kidding – I know they do, and that is a good thing.

        Hope you are doing well –
        DJ

      • JustMe says:

        I’m good DJ,
        I think it’s worrying that he hates these shows it makes me suspicious but ‘a sense of morality’ is a much better way to look at it!
        lol

        JM

  4. julesasmrspersonality says:

    Hey DJ,
    I was just thinking about you today and thought I’d stop by and say hi. 🙂 I think we all fell for the lies because we gave our trust willingly to our husbands. Now we have a hard time giving our trust to them. I know I am hyper sensitive to lies now. Hugs to you. Jules

    • Not Over It says:

      Hey Jules – I went and looked at your blog last night, too – hope you are doing well.

      Yes, I guess cheating spouses everywhere take advantage of the trust of their spouses. I’d like to throw in a few cuss words here, but I won’t. Ha!

      Love & prayers,
      DJ

Leave a Reply

